The IB Curriculum


The Diploma Programme organizes teaching and learning through six subject groups, underpinned by the DP core (see diagram). Made up oft he three required components (Theory of knowledge, the extended essay and Creativity, Activity, Service) the DP core aims to broaden students’ educational experience and challenge them to apply their knowledge and skills.

The six subject groups are: Studies in language and literature, Language acquisition, Individuals and Societies, Sciences, Mathematics, and Arts. 
The students have the discretion to choose a course from within each subject group, which will serve the most in future studies

Choice of the right combination

Students are required to choose one subject from each of the six academic areas, although they can choose a second subject from groups 1 to 5 instead of a group 6 subject. Normally, three subjects (and not more than four) are taken at higher level (HL), and the others are taken at standard level (SL). Subjects at HL are studied in greater depth and than at standard level (SL). At both levels, many skills are developed, especially those of critical thinking and analysis. At the end of the course, students' abilities are measured by means of external assessment. Many subjects contain some element of course work assessed by teachers

The centre of the circle

All participating students attend the three core Elements.
Theory of knowledge (TOK) is assessed through an exhibition and a 1,600-word essay. It asks students to reflect on the nature of knowledge, and on how
we know what we claim to know.
The extended essay is an independent, selfdirected piece of research, finishing with a 4,000-word paper. Participation in this process develops the capacity to analyse, synthesize and evaluate knowledge.
Studied throughout the Diploma Programme, CAS (Creativity, Activity, Service) involves students in a range of activities alongside their academic studies. It is not formally assessed. However, students reflect on their CAS experiences a spart of the DP, and provide evidence of achieving the eight learning outcomes for CAS.